Bruce Springsteen Releases Legendary Roxy Show 40 Years Later

July 9, 2018
Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, The Roxy July 7, 1978

40 years after his legendary show at West Hollywood’s Roxy Theatre, Bruce Springsteen has finally released the much-bootlegged live recording as part of his ongoing archival series.

The July 7, 1978 show was originally broadcast live on Los Angeles’ KMET-FM resulting in its wide distribution as a bootleg over the years. The new official release has been remixed and remastered and is available now at

Although seven songs from this show were previously released as part of Springsteen’s Live 1975-1985 box set, this marks the first time the entire concert has been released in full.

CDJ’s Paul Rappaport, who worked for Columbia Records at the time, coordinated this intimate show and wrote a 4-piece blog about in Backstage Access. You can read it here >

Bruce Springsteen The Roxy July 7, 1978 Track Listing

Set 1:
1. Rave On!
2. Badlands
3. Spirit in the Night
4. Darkness On the Edge of Town
5. Candy’s Room
6. For You
7. Point Blank
8. The Promised Land
9. Prove It All Night
10. Racing in the Street
11. Thunder Road

Set 2:
1. Paradise By the “C”
2. Fire
3. Adam Raised a Cain
4. Mona
5. She’s The One
6. Growin’ Up
7. It’s Hard To Be a Saint in the City
8. Backstreets
9. Heartbreak Hotel
10. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)

First Encore:
1. Independence Day
2. Born to Run
3. Because the Night
4. Raise Your Hand
5. Second Encore Break

Second Encore:
1. Twist and Shout

The post Bruce Springsteen Releases Legendary Roxy Show 40 Years Later appeared first on Classics Du Jour.